The Treasure You Keep

I was recently on Instagram, and by recently I mean two minutes ago, and I was posting about my moment in time. Where my thoughts were, what I was doing.  The first thought was of the storm that was coming. I could hear thunder in the distance and see clouds forming over the building where I live. The second thought was that I wanted to share it with the world and let them know that there was something so simple about just turning everything off and listening to nature. The quiet is beautiful. My third thought came when I looked down and saw the reading material that had been calling to me since I first got up this morning. I looked and saw this plain, jade green mead notebook. Now to the ordinary person, this notebook might just look like a thin wisp of someone’s notes left behind, nothing interesting to the passerby who might see it on the street or at a desk at someone’s house; but for me, these very pages are worth more than anything that money could buy.

So as began to post, I took the usual pictures of the clouds and my view from where I sat in my living room with the blinds open. There was nothing special about those first four pictures, But when I got to the last one I noticed that there, right in front of me, was a treasure. This little green journal held treasures. These were times and records of time spent with God. These were times when I heard Him call to me, direct me, comfort me, strengthen me, and teach me. These were times when God opened my eyes to things not seen and taught me to listen with my heart of hearts for understanding. These were priceless, endless, treasures.

Every time I look at that notebook I feel a tug, a call, a beckoning to dip into the pages that unveil the depth of our conversations… a give and take with the King. It’s a reminder that there’s no place I’d rather be. At His feet, listening intensely to His plans, His words, His instruction and encouragement for what He’s assigned me. I look at these treasures, written in mere ink on paper, but deeper still, captured on the tablet of my heart and ingrained on my soul, reminding me who I am and all I am meant to do.

This is my treasure, it’s not silver, nor gold. This is my treasure, the thing I keep, time spent with God, sitting at His feet.

 

Leave a Reply

